<u>Local WINNERS of "18th Annual Writing for Literacy, Library Essay Contest" Award Ceremony</u>

The local San Carlos winners of the 18th Annual Student Writing for Literacy Library Essay Contest were announced at an award ceremony held at the San Carlos Branch Library on Wednesday, April 8, at 6:00 pm.. Eighty-seven members of the community heard these talented students read their essays. Following the awards presentation. A reception for the students and their guests was held in the Winer Family Community Room & Art Gallery. Our heartiest CONGRATULATIONS to all of the students, their parents and teachers, who chose to expend the time and energy required. They are all winners in our book, and we thank them for their participation.

This year's local winners are: Fourth graders from Kim Filner's Benchley-Weinberger's class: George Palmer, Maz Reeder, and Eric Remiker; from Erin Keegan's Dailard class, Nicolette Hays; from Green Elementary's Sylvia Anderson's class, Klanna Kotas, from Susan Barrett's class, Yusef McCaskill, and from Louise Volpe's class, Logan McKerring. PHHS tenth grade winners from Wendy Lange's class are Halley Broderick, Katie Flato, and Lina Zavala. Lina Zavala's, Logan McKerring, and Nicolette Hay's essays will represent San Carlos in the City-wide contest. They all wrote about the one book each would save if all others were to be destroyed. Lina's book was, "To Kill A Mockingbird," by Harper Lee, Logan's chose "The Book Thief" by Markus Zusak, while Nicolette chose to save, "Wonder," by R.J.Palacio. Managing Librarian Rita Glick, Bill Glick, Patty Woodall and Barbara Woodall (chair), judged the 211 locally submitted essays. There were no local eighth grade entries this year. Each student was presented with an award certificated from the San Diego City Council, presented by our district's Council person, Scott Sherman, a Barnes & Noble \$25 gift card, a Friends of the Library pen and Award Certificate.

This essay contest is open to all students who attend a public, private, parochial, or are home schooled, served by the San Diego Public Library system and are in the 4th, 8th, or 10th grade. It was started in 1997 by our own SCFOL Past-President, Jack Winer. That first year, the contest was open to all students who attended the 12 schools in the Navajo Canyon area. It was such a success, that FSDPL decided to expand the contest to include all of the schools served by the San Diego Public Library system. Today, the contest is co-sponsored by Friends of the San Diego Public Library (FSDPL), San Diego Public Library, San Diego Unified School District Library Media Teacher, KPBS (One Book, One San Diego), and Computers 2 SD Kids (C2SDK). This year's DEADLINE for receipt of entries was December 19, 2014.

City-wide, total of 954 essays were submitted this year. There are four City-wide Grand Prize Winners at each grade level. Top prize winners each receive a monetary award and a laptop computer. One special prize of \$500 is awarded in memory of JACK and CAROLYN WINER for the best overall essay. The names of the Grand Prize Winners and Best Overall Winner are announced during an Awards Ceremony, held at the Balboa Park Club on April 30, 2015, at 6:30 pm. To see more pictures of our local award ceremony, click on [easingsliderpro id="43"]